Ruby Breasted Hummingbird

We saw one of these fellas while on the morning walk.  I heard the little buggers zipping and humming around so I paused to look for it.  I saw it hovering in a little enclave of bramble (blackberry thorns) doing what could have been feeding or nesting.  It seemed to get threatened because it careened out of there and right for my head.  It came close to my face then shot upwards to about ten feet above my head before zooming around in a circle then back to its bramble clearing.  The ruby breast feathers caught the sunlight and I thought it actually lit up from within, light a lightning bug, for a few minutes.  I was breathless with the excitement and mystery of it.  Yep.  Breathless from bird watching.  It’s a nice life.

Leave a Reply

