Wind Song

I was loaned J. Ruth Gendler’s Book of Qualities in 2008 and have fondly remembered it since. The first passage is on the wind. It comes back to me again and again… much like, you know, the wind.By: J. Ruth Gendler

THE WIND

Amazing looking Wind Doll by http://www.pattisdolls.com/wind.html

The wind is a gossip. Not in a malicious way. She
just likes to move around and stir things up. She
runs through the fire barefoot and has no fear of
heights. She carries big blue bowls of rain with her.
She plays the flute and loves all kinds of sounds. Her
laughter fills the sky. The wind is a wonderful story-
teller. I still remember how she introduced me to
the Qualities when I was child.

My friend Erin is a singer and songwriter (among a great many other qualities) and she’s been goading me to write some lyrics for her for quite a few weeks now. The other day, a few snippets came to me. I’m going to attempt to work them, now, into something song-like.

Wind Song

Invisible wind, you are so funny
You shake things up with a whip and wap!
You bring tears to my eyes
without making me laugh!

Wind, you trickster
You whirly-gig boo!
Wind you whipper
What next will you do?

I feel you’re my friend sometimes,
Wind, I feel I can trust you.
Wind, I walk into a room
And I hear you rustle.

Wind, you trickster,
You whirly-gig boo!
Wind, you whipper,
What next will you do?

Wind, I can’t see you
And still there you are!
Wind, you make leaves dance,
You lift up Mama’s skirt.

Wind, you fill my heart up,
you make moon-shadows,
you make nights exciting.
Wind, you bring tears to my eyes
without making me laugh.

Wind, you trickster,
You whirly-gig boo!
Wind, you whipper,
What next will you do?

Leave a Reply

