This Thing I Must Do

All my life I’ve been drawn to helping people.  Fixing people.  Wanting to help people fix themselves.  In an effort to fix myself I must resist this urge to help people fix themselves.  To help myself, I have to not try to fix anyone else.  My karma is to clean up my house and to not apologize for doing so.  I have to not narrate my son into a fictional future in which he asks himself about the man who must have been holding the camera, shooting all those snaps of his mom.  I have to maintain hope and maintain distance.  I have to not apologize.  I have to let go and let gawd.  I have to then shut the door and clean my own house.

Leave a Reply

