How to Lose Friends and Alienate Strangers

Creditors sometimes call at the best times.  Until I left my well paying job and turned over the financial power to another I was doing pretty well in the credit/debt world.  Since I’ve left him and diapering, feeding and shoeing my children has become priority number one the creditors have become unhappy with me.  I attempted to refer them to him at first, but that was to no avail.  I usually just don’t answer unrecognized phone numbers, but sometimes they call at the just the right moment.  There is dirty laundry scattered in every room. The baby is resisting any nap today, I don’t even think the toddler has brushed his teeth today and my one day off of “work” this week has basically been depressing as a result of the pleasant help a teacher in our playgroup offered.  She gave me yet more disciplinary advice for the controlling of Salamander and what happened is that I felt some vital self-control within snap.  I made Salamander remain on his own in an unused room of the summerized school until he could control himself enough to walk to the car with me and once we arrived at the car I began crying uncontrollably.  I haven’t even been able to make myself cry with sad movies or music, but there we were.  My eyes are still all red and hot and it’s six hours later.

So the creditor called.  And I gave her a piece of my mind.  Usually they listen, apologize, say they will make notation and ask me to please call as soon as I am able to begin paying again, they won’t be able to help me until I bring the account current, blah blah blah.  This one however didn’t get to the empathy section of training so when she ignored my explanation I asked if she had heard me correctly.  Ah, the vent.  Venting on someone whose job it is to do the dirty work.  Sorry lady.  I’m sure they did teach you how to deal with impolite persons on the phone.

 

Leave a Reply

